Jump to content


Photo

A Noobish Question Regarding Targeting Scripts


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 Jaedyn Syffre

Jaedyn Syffre

    Bantam

  • RvB Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
2
Recruit
  • LocationUK
  • Favorite Ship:Corax
  • Race:Gallente

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:00 PM

I'm considering putting two Sensor Boosters onto my Corax, and the internet seems to suggest loading two scripts; Targeting Range and Scan Resolution.

My query is - Would these not cancel each other out, or is my maths just bad?

If it helps I'm trying to make a sniper PvP Corax.


  • 0

#2 Mizhir

Mizhir

    Dominix

  • Friend of RvB
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1300 posts
234
Crewman 1st Class  Member Reputation
  • Favorite Ship:Fly all the ships \o/
  • Race:Minmatar

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:03 PM

They will not cancel each other out.

 

The range scripted one will increase your targeting range, but not affect the scan res. And the scanres one will improve your scanress but not affect your targeting range. 

 

But you will most likely not need a scanres senso booster on a corax. You can fit a target painter instead, which will increase your damage to the target. 


  • 2

Sig%20Starsurge.png


#3 Jaedyn Syffre

Jaedyn Syffre

    Bantam

  • RvB Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
2
Recruit
  • LocationUK
  • Favorite Ship:Corax
  • Race:Gallente

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:17 PM

Thank you! That makes a great deal more sense. I will also try dropping one of the sensor boosters in favour of a target painter.


  • 0

#4 Haru Kion

Haru Kion

    Prophecy

  • Friend of RvB
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 314 posts
64
Crewman 3rd Class  Member Reputation
  • LocationIzmir, Turkey
  • Favorite Ship:Federation Navy Comet
  • Race:Caldari

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:32 PM

Actually, running two WITHOUT scripts will give you a tiny bit more range/speed than using one with range script and the other with speed script.

So it's not a good idea to have one bonused to range and the other bonused to speed.


  • 1
Posted Image
I'm in your hole, torping your ships...

#5 Jaedyn Syffre

Jaedyn Syffre

    Bantam

  • RvB Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
2
Recruit
  • LocationUK
  • Favorite Ship:Corax
  • Race:Gallente

Posted 03 January 2014 - 12:46 PM

Interesting. Would you also agree that one is enough and the second slot would be better allocated to a Target Painter anyway?

 


  • 0

#6 Charles Burger

Charles Burger

    Astarte

  • Director
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 966 posts
364
Petty Officer 3rd Class  Member Reputation
  • Favorite Ship:Badger
  • Race:Caldari

Posted 03 January 2014 - 01:08 PM

Yes, 2 sebos on a Corax doesn't really make sense. If you need a range script then you are presumably going to be a long way away from your targets, since Corax already has a decent lock range. And Corax is a dessie, which don't have terrible scan res... if you're a long way away, having a super-quick lock time doesn't help much, because missile flight time will be a bigger factor anyway.

So yeah 1 sebo for range IF you need it. Otherwise, there are much better mid mods.

 


  • 1

#7 Jaedyn Syffre

Jaedyn Syffre

    Bantam

  • RvB Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
2
Recruit
  • LocationUK
  • Favorite Ship:Corax
  • Race:Gallente

Posted 03 January 2014 - 01:54 PM

Basically, I'm thinking something like this;

 

Ballistic Control Mod I

Ballistic Control Mod I

 

 

Experimental 1mn Afterburner I

Sensor Booster I

Partial Weapon Navigation

Empty Mid Slot ( Maybe a Small Shield Extender?)

 

 

 

Light Missile Launcher I, Scourge Light Missile

Light Missile Launcher I, Scourge Light Missile

Light Missile Launcher I, Scourge Light Missile

Light Missile Launcher I, Scourge Light Missile

Light Missile Launcher I, Scourge Light Missile

Light Missile Launcher I, Scourge Light Missile

Light Missile Launcher I, Scourge Light Missile

 

Empty Rig slots (I haven't gotten around to training Rigs yet. It's high on my priorities though)


  • 0

#8 Telemachus Rheade

Telemachus Rheade

    Revelation

  • RvB Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2640 posts
467
Petty Officer 2nd Class  Member Reputation
  • LocationToronto, Canada
  • Favorite Ship:Imperial Navy Slicer
  • Race:Caldari

Posted 03 January 2014 - 02:57 PM

Micro Warp Drive...

 

Caldari Navy Missiles.


  • 1
Posted Image

#9 Jaedyn Syffre

Jaedyn Syffre

    Bantam

  • RvB Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
2
Recruit
  • LocationUK
  • Favorite Ship:Corax
  • Race:Gallente

Posted 03 January 2014 - 03:11 PM

I would love an MWD, unfortunately the only feasible way I can see of fitting one would require Arbalest Missile Launchers, which would set me back about 4mil a piece and I just don't have the bankroll to fit that yet.

 

I'm multilevelling a mining alt in order to get me some ISK but it'll take a little while.


  • 0

#10 Mizhir

Mizhir

    Dominix

  • Friend of RvB
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1300 posts
234
Crewman 1st Class  Member Reputation
  • Favorite Ship:Fly all the ships \o/
  • Race:Minmatar

Posted 03 January 2014 - 03:52 PM

An AB will be too slow and you will be easy to catch.

 

So it will most likely be worth it to replace one of the ballistic control mod with a micro auxillary power control to give you enough PG to fit a mwd. It may also give you enough PG to fit a medium shield extender in the last mid. A small one isn't really much use. 


  • 1

Sig%20Starsurge.png


#11 Jaedyn Syffre

Jaedyn Syffre

    Bantam

  • RvB Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
2
Recruit
  • LocationUK
  • Favorite Ship:Corax
  • Race:Gallente

Posted 03 January 2014 - 04:20 PM

Ah, that's exactly what I need!

I also realized I'm in desperate need of a warp scrambler when soloing.


  • 0

#12 Mandelbrot Fracture

Mandelbrot Fracture

    'Always Drunk'

  • RvB Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1759 posts
190
Crewman 2nd Class  Member Reputation
  • LocationShithole
  • Favorite Ship:Opux Luxury Yacht
  • Race:Caldari

Posted 03 January 2014 - 06:31 PM

Yeh afterburner will only get you popped pretty quick, You need to work on some basic skills by the looks of things, Rigs arnt a big deal sp wise and they do make a huge diff,

Thats if they are cheap of course.

Also 2 sebos is totally unnecessary, Also I don't believe you would need targeting range script sure your missiles prob don't go as far as your ship can currently lock anyway,

As for a sebo in the first place unless you want it so you can have quick lock so you can point, there is prob no need for one anyway,

Maby think more target painter, 

You'll find once some1 catches and scrams you your not going to last long anyway.

You can go balls deep rockets or kite with mwd light missiles, just avoid getting pointed


  • 1

2cysaz5.jpg


#13 Jaedyn Syffre

Jaedyn Syffre

    Bantam

  • RvB Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
2
Recruit
  • LocationUK
  • Favorite Ship:Corax
  • Race:Gallente

Posted 04 January 2014 - 03:20 PM

Thanks for all your help and suggestions. You can see how I implemented them below. Unfortunately I wasn't paying attention this morning and flew it straight into an Omen and a Thrasher.  :lol:

 

http://blue.rvbeve.c...l&kll_id=623108


  • 0

#14 Mandelbrot Fracture

Mandelbrot Fracture

    'Always Drunk'

  • RvB Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1759 posts
190
Crewman 2nd Class  Member Reputation
  • LocationShithole
  • Favorite Ship:Opux Luxury Yacht
  • Race:Caldari

Posted 05 January 2014 - 05:01 PM

Can you fit a Target painter with that yet, Also a shield mod or something in the other, 

If you have empty slots your doing it wrong.

Also try use an alt to move stuff around, 

Nd you don't need so much ammo in your bay, You'll never last that long, Use caldari navy missiles

Also dessies tend to get primaried before frigs, Condors are good fun lol dont tell any1 I said that


  • 1

2cysaz5.jpg


#15 Jaedyn Syffre

Jaedyn Syffre

    Bantam

  • RvB Member
  • PipPip
  • 12 posts
2
Recruit
  • LocationUK
  • Favorite Ship:Corax
  • Race:Gallente

Posted 05 January 2014 - 06:05 PM

Thanks! Due to the empty slots I'm dropping back to frigs until I get my skills up.

I'm mostly floating about in Atrons, Kestrels and Tristans at the moment. I also moved my mining alt into the area for hauling my ships in.


  • 0

#16 Mandelbrot Fracture

Mandelbrot Fracture

    'Always Drunk'

  • RvB Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1759 posts
190
Crewman 2nd Class  Member Reputation
  • LocationShithole
  • Favorite Ship:Opux Luxury Yacht
  • Race:Caldari

Posted 05 January 2014 - 06:46 PM

Sounds like a plan ma man!!!!


  • 0

2cysaz5.jpg





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users